An Introduction & Crime Writing Awards Announcement

KEEP-CALM-BLOG-ON[1]After posting nearly 500 blogs on my website and on other sites, it’s time for a change, so I’m happy to post my first WordPress blog today. For those who don’t know me, I’ve been writing, publishing, promoting and selling books for a long time, and have plenty of info to share, professionally and personally.

I plan to release two more mysteries this year, my second Evan Dunstan novella (traditionally published) and my 5th Casey Holland novel (self-published) later this year. Right now, I’m waiting for the editors’ input. I’ll write more on the challenges of preparing two books in one year in the weeks to come.

Meanwhile, as a longtime member of Crime Writers of Canada, I wanted to share CWC’s recent announcement of this year’s Arthur Ellis Award Winners.

FYI, the Arthur Ellis awards were established in 1984, and are named after the nom de travail of Canada’s official hangman. (Yes, our country once had one). The Arthur Ellis awards celebrate excellence in crime writing. Eligible books were published in 2016, with the exception of the Unhanged Author, which awards a prize to the year’s best unpublished novel. You can find a complete list of winners HERE.

 

Author: debrapurdykong

I'm a Canadian author from British Columbia, who's been writing for over 30 years. I still love taking an idea and slowly developing it into a short story or a full length novel. My volunteer experiences, criminology diploma, and various jobs, inspired me to write mysteries set in BC’s Lower Mainland. Employment as a campus security patrol and communications officer provide the background for my Evan Dunstan mystery novellas, as well as my Casey Holland transit security novels. Over the past 20 years, I've learned the business side of writing: self-publishing, traditional publishing, working with agents, editors, promotion, and book selling. Over recent years, I've also become a book reviewer (I'm am avid reader) and blogger. I'm now working on my first urban fantasy. I hope to share what I've learned and am still learning. More importantly, I hope to learn from others.

6 thoughts on “An Introduction & Crime Writing Awards Announcement”

  1. Your new blog looks great, Debra! Welcome to WordPress. 🙂 The only suggestion I would have is to either make use of the sidebar option for a relevant widget, or delete the default widget that’s place-holding for one.

    Like

    1. Thanks for taking the time to comment, Carol. I haven’t really used widgets yet. I’m still trying to figure out if they’re beneficial or not, but I definitely welcome your input. Meanwhile, I’ll follow you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

