Revisiting My Old Fictional Friend

I’m one of those weird writers who likes to work on several novels at once. The upside is that I’m never ever bored. The downside is that it takes a while to see the books published.

Cartoon of Girl Writing

Since I find it impossible to release three or four new titles a year to stay visible, (trust me, I’ve tried) it’s not a huge issue. The truth is that I like to take my time with plots…allow them to simmer and merge into a story with seamless subplots and layers of character development.

So, after a nearly eighteen month hiatus, I’m finally ready to start the sixth draft of my 6th Casey Holland mystery, still untitled. This WIP has been around a while, ever since I met a bus driver a few years back. He’d been assaulted three times on the job, and has since changed careers.

Bus_interior_Nova_LFS_-_STLévis_1204-3[1].jpg

Although I was working on book five this spring (now in my editor’s hands), it feels like I haven’t visited Casey in a long time. I think this way because Casey’s in a different place emotionally in book six than she was in the fifth installment. It’ll be interesting to catch up on the latest challenges in her life. How has she grown? What new challenges must she face, beyond crime solving?

I’ve been writing about Casey for many years, and I’ve changed more than she has. Certainly, my perspective has changed, but that can be a good thing. Authors, like their protagonists, need to grow and change, don’t you think?

 

Author: debrapurdykong

I'm a Canadian author from British Columbia, who's been writing for over 30 years. I still love taking an idea and slowly developing it into a short story or a full length novel. My volunteer experiences, criminology diploma, and various jobs, inspired me to write mysteries set in BC’s Lower Mainland. Employment as a campus security patrol and communications officer provide the background for my Evan Dunstan mystery novellas, as well as my Casey Holland transit security novels. Over the past 20 years, I've learned the business side of writing: self-publishing, traditional publishing, working with agents, editors, promotion, and book selling. Over recent years, I've also become a book reviewer (I'm am avid reader) and blogger. I'm now working on my first urban fantasy. I hope to share what I've learned and am still learning. More importantly, I hope to learn from others.

2 thoughts on “Revisiting My Old Fictional Friend”

Leave a Reply

