Summer Solstice, and the Question of Time

Happy Summer Solstice! For reasons I don’t quite understand, this day becomes more relevant to me every year. It might have something to do with all the research I’ve been doing on Druidism and Wicca, where the solstices were immensely important and still are for many today.

As the days will now grow shorter, I also reflect on the passage of time and a panel discussion I took part in two months ago. A senior attendee mentioned publishing his first book of short stories. He went on to say that he has lots of ideas, but figures he has maybe ten good years left. My answer to him was that an awful lot can be accomplished in ten years.

I share that fellow’s concern about time, but what’s most important is not the amount of time we have left, but how we spend it. As I often tell beginning writers, regardless of their lifestyle, writing isn’t about finding time, it’s about making time. It’s also about discipline, and just showing up. If we can do that, then who knows what can be accomplished in ten years?

I have a couple of more photos to share from our backyard garden. These were taken about three weeks ago, but more blooms are coming from other plants. The spring flowers were amazing on our property, so let’s see what the summer brings.

Author: debrapurdykong

I'm a British Columbia author who's been writing for over 30 years. My volunteer experiences, criminology diploma, and security work inspired me to write the Casey Holland transit security novels set in Metro Vancouver. I'm also a part-time facilitator in Creative Writing Workshops through Port Moody's Recreation program. Feel free to contact me at dpurdykong@gmail.com

13 thoughts on “Summer Solstice, and the Question of Time”

  1. In the past ten years I have retired from my day job, moved to Spain and have written and published 8 books. Yes, a lot can be accomplished in ten years. I’m hoping I have ten more good years, but we never know. One day at a time. See you soon.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. the flowers look beautiful. I often think about time and your words are wise as well as accurate. It

    is up to us how we use our time so our choices are important. Enjoy your day Debra!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think as we age we find time passes faster, more to do, and wanting to do more living. I wrote an article similar about lists and priorities for Sally Cronin’s blog this week. I’ll be resharing next week on my blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve had the impression that it’s been a great spring for rhodos and dogwoods, almost as though the extreme cold week in January gave them a boost!

    You’re right about using our time well as we grow older.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment